2019 Award Ceremony & Commemorative Lecture of Hamaguchi Award

 2019 Award Ceremony & Commemorative Lecture of Hamaguchi Award (Minister of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism Award) was held on October 29th, 2019 in Tokyo.

 Hamaguchi Award is given for individuals and/or organizations that have made significant scientific or pragmatic contributions to the enhancement of coastal resilience against tsunami, storm surge and other coastal disasters, which will raise people’s awareness of disaster resilience. The award has been awarded since 2016 due to designation of November 5th as World Tsunami Awareness Day in 2015.


  • Prof. Tomoya Shibayama: Professor, Waseda University; Professor Emeritus, Yokohama National University, Japan
  • Prof. Ahmet Cevdet Yalciner: Professor, Middle East Technical University, Turkey

Group Photograph of the 2019 Award Ceremony
Group Photograph of the Award Ceremony

Introduction of Awardees 2019 (PDF/53KB)

Interview with Awardee 2019 (Prof. Shibayama) (PDF/146KB)

Interview with Awardee 2019 (Prof. Yalciner) (PDF/144KB)

Back to Top